Français
Facebook Twitter Google Plus

Privacy Policy and Principles

At McDonald's®, we strongly believe in protecting the privacy of the personal information that we obtain for business purposes about our customers. To that end, we have established our Privacy Policy.   In addition, we have developed Privacy Principles to guide us in the interpretation and application of our Privacy Policy. We also have Website Privacy Guidelines to protect the privacy of visitors to our website – mcdonalds.ca.

If you have any questions, comments or concerns regarding privacy, please contact the McDonald's Privacy Manager.

Privacy Policy

At McDonald's, we strongly believe in protecting the privacy of the personal information that we obtain for business purposes about our customers, employees, franchisees, suppliers and other entities. Also, we value the trust that is placed on us to responsibly manage the personal information that we obtain.

To that end, we have established Privacy Guidelines to assist us in protecting the privacy of employee and non-employee personal information. We have also established a set of Employee Privacy Principles and Non-Employee Privacy Principles. These Principles provide guidance to us with respect to our application of these Guidelines and our treatment of personal information.

These Guidelines and the accompanying Principles are designed to assist us in fairly and effectively managing personal information with regard to collection, use, disclosure, retention, accuracy and security. In that regard, all of our employees who handle personal information are required to comply with these Guidelines and our Principles.

We are committed to following these Guidelines and our Principles. We are further committed to complying with any privacy laws that may apply to the personal information that we may obtain.

We encourage our customers, the general public and others to learn more about our Privacy Guidelines by visiting our website - mcdonalds.ca; speak with a McDonald's manager; or, contact the McDonald's person responsible for privacy issues. We encourage our employees to learn more about our Privacy Guidelines by visiting McWeb or speaking with a manager.
From time to time these Guidelines and our Principles may be amended to address the changing needs of our business and/or changes in applicable privacy laws.

Website Privacy Guidelines

Information about our Privacy Guidelines and Internet Usage
On our websites, we may offer features, like games and colouring books, which do not require a child to provide any personal information. We collect only limited personal information from children 12 and under (like their email addresses) to respond to their online requests. For example, we may collect a child's email address in order to send the child a screen saver, but we promptly delete the email address from our system. Or, we may collect a child's email address in order to enter the child in a contest. We may also ask a child to provide an email address of a parent so we can notify the parent to seek consent. We will not collect more detailed information from a child 12 and younger, such as a postal address or a telephone number, without the consent of a parent or guardian. McDonald's will not condition a child's participation in any online activity on the child's disclosure of more personal information than is reasonably necessary to participate in that activity.

Personal information collected from children is used solely by McDonald's or other entities that provide technical, fulfillment or other services to McDonald's. For example, such entities may provide services, such as improving our websites, fulfilling requests or administering contests. Personal information collected from children is not sold or transferred to third parties.
We urge parents to regularly monitor and supervise their children's online activities. In order to review any personal information we have about your child or to ask us to delete that information or to stop further use of the information, please contact us.

Links to Other Websites
We may offer links to websites that are not operated by McDonald's Restaurants of Canada Limited. We are not responsible for the policies and practices of other companies. If you visit one of these linked websites, you should review their privacy and other policies.

Ten Privacy Principles to be Applied to Non-Employee Information

Principle #1
We are accountable for the personal information that we collect about you.
We are committed to ensuring that we comply with our Privacy Guidelines and these Privacy Principles whenever McDonald's, or other entities acting on behalf of McDonald's, collect and, or use your personal information.

Principle #2
We will identify the purposes before collecting your information.
We only collect personal information for purposes directly associated with our business activities. For example, we only collect personal information from customers when they volunteer their information in the following types of situations: to enter a contest or participate in a promotion; to send us a comment about our business; or to respond to a question or concern. Before we collect any personal information, we will explain the reasons for collecting it.

Principle #3
We require your knowledge and consent to collect, use and or, disclose your personal information.

We only collect and use your personal information with your knowledge and consent, except in limited and specific circumstances, and as permitted by law. For example, we reserve the right to collect, use or disclose any information as needed to satisfy any law, regulation or legal responsibility; to protect our legitimate business interests; to fulfill your requests; or to cooperate in any law enforcement investigation or an investigation on a matter of public safety.
Except in such specific circumstances, you may withdraw your consent to our use of your personal information at any time.

Principle #4
We only collect information necessary for identified purposes.

We will only collect information necessary to meet an identified purpose. We will collect this information lawfully and fairly. For example, if you enter a contest, we need your name and other contact information so that we may contact you if necessary. Further, we may require additional information to verify a winning entry.

Principle #5
We will limit how we use and or, disclose your information.

If we do collect any personal information from you, we will use it only for its identified purposes. We will not disclose it without your knowledge other than to our agents and/or other entities acting on our behalf. We retain personal information only as long as necessary to meet the identified purpose(s).

Personal information that is no longer required for a purpose will be destroyed or made anonymous. Occasionally, with your permission, we will send marketing information to you, such as discount coupons, information about new product offerings, etc. If you do not consent to receive such materials, we will not send them to you.

In the course of managing business operations, McDonald's may share personal information with other entities such as professional advisors, suppliers, franchisees, or agencies. Any entity with which we share personal information is required to comply with these Guidelines.

Other entities may be engaged by McDonald's to perform a variety of functions, such as fulfilling orders, assisting with promotions, or providing technical services for our web sites and information technology systems. These entities may have access to personal information, if needed, to perform such functions. However, these entities may only use such personal information for the purpose of performing that function for which the information was provided, and may not use it for any other purpose.

McDonald's does not sell, transfer or disclose personal information to entities outside the McDonald's system. However, with your permission, we may, on occasion send marketing information on behalf of one of our promotional partners ("partners") about products or services they provide that may be of interest to you. You may be asked if you wish to receive marketing materials from our partners. If you elect to receive such materials, McDonald's will not share your personal information with such partners but rather will send a mailing or email on their behalf.

McDonald's reserves the right to use or disclose any information as needed to satisfy any law, regulation or legal request, to protect legitimate business interests, to fulfill your requests, or to cooperate in any law enforcement investigation or an investigation on a matter of public safety.

Principle #6
We will seek to use information that is as accurate as possible.

Generally, we only collect personal information that is directly supplied by you. In such cases, we will take care to enter your data correctly, but will typically not make any further effort to verify its accuracy or update it. For example, if you provide us with a phone number to contact us, we will assume it is correct.

Principle #7
We will keep your personal information secure.

We protect all personal information collected and held by us. We have implemented safeguards to prevent loss or theft, unauthorized access, use, disclosure, copying or modification. In the event that we transfer or disclose personal information to another entity, we require that entity to comply with the principles set out in these Principles and our Privacy Guidelines.

Principle #8
We will be open about our policies and practices.

Specific information that we will make available to you includes how to gain access to your personal information held by us, including a general account of its use, general information about our Privacy Guidelines and how to contact our Privacy Manager. Our Privacy Guidelines and Privacy Principles may be viewed on McWeb.

Principle #9
You have a right to access your personal information.

We recognize that, under these Guidelines and under certain laws, you may have a right to access your personal information. In that regard, an access request must be made in writing and must be delivered o the Privacy Manager, as follows:

Private and Confidential
Privacy Manager,
McDonald's Restaurants of Canada Limited
2 McDonald's Place, Toronto, ON
M3C 3L4
Fax: (416) 446-3429
Email: privacymanager@ca.mcd.com

Principle #10
You have a right to challenge our compliance.

If for any reason, you are concerned about our compliance with these Privacy Guidelines, we encourage you to contact our Privacy Manager.

Privacy Manager

If you have any questions, comments or concerns regarding privacy, please contact the McDonald's Privacy Manager at:

Private and Confidential
Privacy Manager
McDonald's Restaurants of Canada Limited
McDonald's Place Toronto, ON M3C 3L4
Fax: 416-446-3429

English

Politique et principes de protection des renseignements personnels de McDonald’s

Chez McDonald’s, nous croyons fortement en la protection des renseignements personnels que nous recueillons pour des fins commerciales au sujet de nos clients. À cette fin, nous avons élaboré notre politique de protection des renseignements personnels. En plus, nous avons défini des principes pour nous aider à interpréter et à appliquer notre politique de protection des renseignements personnels. Notre politique de protection des renseignements personnels en ligne nous aide également à protéger les renseignements personnels des visiteurs de notre site Web : mcdonalds.ca.

Si vous avez des questions, des commentaires ou des préoccupations au sujet de la protection des renseignements personnels, veuillez communiquer avec le directeur de la politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels de McDonald’s.

Politique de protection des renseignements personnels

Chez McDonald’s, nous croyons fortement en la protection des renseignements personnels que nous recueillons pour des fins commerciales au sujet de nos clients, de nos employés, de nos franchisés, de nos fournisseurs et d’autres entités. De plus, nous valorisons la confiance qui nous est accordée de gérer de façon responsable les renseignements personnels que nous recueillons.

Pour cette raison, nous avons élaboré les présentes lignes directrices sur la protection des renseignements personnels des employés et des non-employés. Nous avons également défini une série de principes sur la protection des renseignements personnels des employés et des non-employés. Ces principes nous guident dans la mise en pratique de ces lignes directrices et dans notre traitement des renseignements personnels.

Les présentes lignes et les principes s’y rattachant sont conçus pour nous aider à gérer équitablement et efficacement la collecte, l’utilisation, la divulgation, la conservation, l’exactitude et la protection des renseignements personnels. Bien entendu, tous les employés qui utilisent des renseignements personnels doivent se conformer aux présentes lignes directrices et à nos principes.

Nous sommes engagés à respecter ces lignes directrices et nos principes. Nous nous engageons en outre à respecter toute loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels s’appliquant à tous les renseignements personnels que nous pouvons recueillir.

Nous encourageons nos clients, le grand public et quiconque à en apprendre davantage sur nos lignes directrices sur la protection des renseignements personnels en visitant le mcdonalds.ca, en discutant avec un gérant de restaurant McDonald’s ou en communiquant avec le responsable de la politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Nous encourageons également nos employés à en apprendre davantage sur nos lignes directrices sur la protection des renseignements personnels en visitant McWeb ou en communiquant avec un gérant.
De temps à autre, les présentes lignes directrices et nos principes pourront être modifiés pour répondre aux besoins changeants de notre entreprise ou pour respecter les modifications apportées aux lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels applicables.

Politique de protection des renseignements personnels en ligne

Renseignements sur nos lignes directrices sur la protection des renseignements personnels et l’utilisation d’Internet

Nos sites Web proposent des activités, tels des jeux et des livres de coloriage, pour lesquelles les enfants n’ont pas à fournir de renseignements personnels. Nous ne recueillons qu’une quantité limitée de renseignements personnels auprès des enfants de moins de 12 ans (comme leur adresse électronique) afin de répondre à leurs demandes en ligne. Par exemple, nous pouvons être amenés à recueillir l’adresse électronique d’un enfant afin de lui envoyer un écran de veille, mais nous supprimons ensuite sans tarder l’adresse électronique de notre système. Ou, nous pouvons recueillir l’adresse électronique d’un enfant afin de l’inscrire à un concours. Nous pouvons également demander à un enfant de fournir l’adresse électronique d’un parent afin que nous puissions l’aviser et obtenir son consentement. Nous ne recueillons pas de renseignements plus précis, comme une adresse postale ou un numéro de téléphone, auprès d’enfants âgés de 12 ans, sauf avec le consentement d’un parent ou d’un tuteur. McDonald’s ne basera pas la participation d’un enfant à une activité en ligne sur la communication par cet enfant de renseignements personnels qui ne sont pas nécessaires à sa participation à cette activité.

Les renseignements personnels recueillis auprès des enfants sont uniquement utilisés par McDonald’s ou d’autres entités qui exécutent des commandes ou fournissent des services techniques ou autres à McDonald’s. Par exemple, ces entités peuvent offrir des services, comme une amélioration de nos sites Web, la satisfaction de demandes ou l’administration de jeux-concours. Les renseignements obtenus auprès des enfants ne sont pas vendus ou cédés à de tierces parties.
Nous encourageons les parents à surveiller et à contrôler régulièrement les activités en ligne de leurs enfants. Afin d’accéder aux données personnelles que nous pouvons détenir sur votre enfant ou de nous demander de supprimer ou de ne plus utiliser ces données, nous vous remercions de bien vouloir communiquer avec nous.

Liens vers d’autres sites Web

Nous pouvons proposer des liens vers des sites Web qui ne sont pas exploités par Les Restaurants McDonald du Canada Limitée. McDonald’s se dégage de toute responsabilité quant aux politiques ou aux pratiques d’autres entreprises. Si vous visitez l’un de ces sites Web auxquels nous renvoyons, nous vous invitons à prendre connaissance de leurs politiques, notamment en matière de protection des renseignements personnels.

Les 10 principes de la protection des renseignements personnels des non-employés

Principe 1
Nous sommes responsables des renseignements personnels que nous recueillons à votre sujet.
Nous nous sommes engagés à respecter nos lignes directrices sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les présents principes chaque fois que McDonald’s ou toute autre entité agissant en son nom, recueille ou utilise vos renseignements personnels.

Principe 2

Nous déterminerons les fins avant de recueillir vos renseignements personnels.
Nous recueillons des renseignements personnels uniquement à des fins liées directement aux activités de notre entreprise. Par exemple, nous recueillons uniquement des renseignements personnels au sujet de nos clients lorsqu’ils les fournissent volontairement dans les situations suivantes : pour participer à un concours ou à une promotion, pour nous faire parvenir des commentaires au sujet de notre entreprise, ou pour répondre à une question ou à une préoccupation. Avant de recueillir tout renseignement personnel, nous expliquons pourquoi nous les recueillons.

Principe 3

Nous devons obtenir votre consentement avant de recueillir, utiliser, ou divulguer des renseignements personnels à votre sujet.

Nous recueillons et utilisons vos renseignements personnels qu’après vous en avoir informé et avoir obtenu votre consentement, sauf dans des circonstances particulières et si permis par la loi. Par exemple, nous nous réservons le droit de recueillir, utiliser ou divulguer tout renseignement nécessaire pour respecter toute loi, tout règlement ou toute responsabilité légale, protéger nos intérêts commerciaux légitimes, répondre à vos demandes ou collaborer à toute enquête policière ou concernant la sécurité publique.À l’exception de ces circonstances, vous pouvez en tout temps annuler votre consentement nous permettant d’utiliser vos renseignements personnels.

Principe 4

Nous recueillons uniquement des renseignements requis pour des fins particulières.

Nous recueillons uniquement des renseignements requis pour des fins définies. Nous recueillons les renseignements de façon légale et équitable. Par exemple, si vous participez à un concours, nous avons besoin de votre nom et de vos coordonnées afin de pouvoir communiquer avec vous, le cas échéant. De plus, il se peut que nous ayons besoin de renseignements supplémentaires pour vérifier le bon gagnant.

Principe 5

Nous limitons l’utilisation et la divulgation de vos renseignements personnels.

Si nous recueillons des renseignements personnels à votre sujet, nous ne les utiliserons que pour les fins déterminées. Nous ne les divulguerons pas à votre insu à d’autres personnes que les agences ou les entités agissant en notre nom. Nous conservons les renseignements seulement pour la durée requise pour répondre aux fins déterminées.

Les renseignements personnels qui ne sont plus requis pour une fin seront détruits ou rendus anonyme. Nous vous enverrons parfois des renseignements de nature commerciale avec votre autorisation, tels des bons-rabais, des données sur les offres de nouveaux produits, etc. Vous ne recevrez de tels éléments de notre part que si vous l’avez choisi.

Dans le cadre de la gestion de son exploitation, McDonald’s peut divulguer des renseignements personnels à d’autres entités comme des conseillers professionnels, des fournisseurs, des franchisés ou des agences. Toutes les entités avec lesquelles nous partageons des renseignements personnels doivent respecter les présentes lignes directrices.

McDonald’s peut engager d’autres entités pour effectuer une variété de service comme le traitement des commandes, l’aide pendant les promotions ou le soutien technique de nos sites Web et de nos systèmes de technologie de l’information. Ces entités peuvent avoir accès aux données personnelles si cela est nécessaire à l’accomplissement de ces tâches. Toutefois, ces entités ne peuvent utiliser ces renseignements personnels qu’aux seules fins d’effectuer les tâches pour lesquelles les renseignements ont été fournis, aucune autre utilisation ne leur étant autorisée.

McDonald’s ne vend, ne cède et ne communique aucun renseignement personnel à des entités en dehors du système McDonald’s. Toutefois, avec votre autorisation, nous pourrons, à l’occasion, vous envoyer des renseignements de nature commerciale pour le compte de nos partenaires de promotion (« partenaires »), concernant des produits ou des services qu’ils fournissent et qui sont susceptibles de vous intéresser. Il se peut que nous vous demandions si vous désirez recevoir de la documentation marketing de nos partenaires. Si vous choisissez de recevoir cette documentation, McDonald’s ne communiquera pas vos renseignements personnels à ces partenaires, mais vous enverra plutôt des courriels en leur nom.

McDonald’s se réserve le droit d’utiliser ou de communiquer des renseignements afin de respecter toute loi, réglementation ou demande légale, de protéger les intérêts légitimes de l’entreprise, de répondre à vos demandes ou de coopérer à toute enquête judiciaire ou enquête sur un problème de sécurité publique.

Principe 6

Nous visons à utiliser des renseignements les plus exacts possible.

Généralement, nous recueillons des renseignements personnels que vous nous fournissez directement. Dans de tels cas, nous prenons soin d’entrer soigneusement les données, mais, de façon générale, nous ne ferons aucun autre effort pour les vérifier ou les mettre à jour. Par exemple, si vous nous fournissez un numéro de téléphone pour vous joindre, nous supposerons qu’il est exact.

Principe 7

Nous protégerons vos renseignements personnels.

Nous protégeons tous les renseignements personnels que nous recueillons et conservons. Nous avons mis en place des mesures de protection pour éviter la perte ou le vol, l’accès, l’utilisation, la divulgation, la copie ou la modification non autorisés. Dans le cas où nous transférons ou divulguons des renseignements personnels à une autre entité, nous exigeons que cette entité respecte les principes énumérés dans les présents principes et nos lignes directrices sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Principe 8

Nous sommes ouverts au sujet de notre politique et de nos pratiques.

Les renseignements précis qui seront mis à votre disposition concernent la façon dont vous pouvez accéder à vos renseignements personnels, incluant un résumé de leur utilisation, des renseignements généraux au sujet de nos lignes directrices sur la protection des renseignements personnels et la façon de communiquer avec le directeur de la politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Nos lignes directrices et nos principes sur la protection des renseignements personnels se trouvent sur le McWeb.

Principe 9

Vous avez le droit d’accéder à vos renseignements personnels.

Nous reconnaissons qu’en vertu des présentes lignes directrices et de certaines lois, vous avez le droit d’accéder à vos renseignements personnels. Pour ce faire, vous devez présenter une demande par écrit au directeur de la politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels, comme suit :

Personnel et confidentiel

Directeur de la politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Les Restaurants McDonald du Canada Limitée

2, Place McDonald’s, Toronto (Ontario)

M3C 3L4

Téléc. : 416 446-3429
Courriel : privacymanager@ca.mcd.com

Principe 10
Vous avez le droit de contester notre conformité.

Si pour toute raison, vous êtes préoccupé par notre conformité aux présentes lignes directrices sur la protection des renseignements personnels, nous vous encourageons à communiquer avec le directeur de la politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Directeur de la politique de protection des renseignements personnels

Si vous avez des questions, des commentaires ou des préoccupations au sujet de la protection des renseignements personnels, veuillez communiquer avec le directeur de la politique de protection des renseignements personnels de McDonald’s à :

Personnel et confidentiel

Les Restaurants McDonald du Canada Limitée
Place McDonald’s, Toronto (Ontario) M3C 3L4
Télécopieur : 416 446-3429